Authors Only Login
     
Login for Marketing! New? JOIN!! | Forgot?

J. J. Cagney is the mystery/thriller pen name of USA Today bestselling author Alexa Padgett. Her debut mystery, A Pilgrimage of Death, was named to Kirkus Reviews' 100 Best Books of 2018, 2019 National Indie Excellence Awards winner, and Goodreads Best Mysteries of the 2010s.

Cagney holds a bachelor's in international marketing and spent part of her twenties as the marketing director for an elite sports management firm. And, yes, she did her requisite stint with a dotcom back in the early 2000s, first as a marketing coordinator and then as a content manager. She's penned work for a variety of websites and magazines, and she worked as a literary agent for Irene Webb Literary.

She lives in northern New Mexico with her husband, children, about a million fish, and their Great Pyrenees, Ash. Kirkus Reviews called Cagney's latest mystery, An Artifact of Death, "An exhilarating entry in a thoroughly enjoyable series."

Identical Death (0.5 - Prequel) is FREE on all platforms - get it here!


A Pilgrimage to Death (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 1)A Pilgrimage to Death (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 1) $0.99 FOR A LIMITED TIME!

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN

A suspense/thriller cozy mystery with a touch of romance.

An acclaimed new series from a USA TODAY BEST-SELLING author, J.J. Cagney. Winner of the 2019 National Indie Excellence Awards, 2019 TopShelf Book Awards Mystery Finalist, and named to Kirkus Reviews' Best Books of 2018.

Cici discovers a body in the forest, and the victim’s wounds are identical to the ones that killed her sister a year ago...

Someone murdered her sister. And shot her dog. The killer won't stop until she's dead, too.

With her identical twin sister hauntings her dreams, as Cici and her dogs must dodge arrows, bullets, and even a demon truck. Worse, she must grapple with the knowledge her twin's death was much more sinister than a random act of violence. The chase is on. As Cici closes in on the takedown, the criminals plan to wipe the sleuth off their radar.

Permanently.

Fans of Agatha Christie, Addison Moore, and Molly Fitz will love A Pilgrimage to Death.

Praise for A Pilgrimage to Death:

"A wholly absorbing gumshoe tale elevated by an extraordinary detective." ~ Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"This winning mystery novel is a breeze to read and Cici's laidback approach as a reverend means that readers certainly don't have to be religious to find her relatable." ~ IndieReader

"Vivid, alluring, and heart-wrenching, Alexa Padgett's A Pilgrimage to Death is every reason I love mystery. A breathtaking tale." ~ Darynda Jones, NY Times Bestselling Author

"A Pilgrimage to Death was an edge-of-my-seat thrill ride that kept me guessing all the way through. Alexa Padgett weaves an intricate and enthralling tale, with relationships that run deep, and mystery that does the same. This was an all-around fantastic story, and I'm excited to read the next books in the series." ~ Allyson Lindt, USA Bestseller


A Heritage of Death (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 2)A Heritage of Death (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 2)$4.99

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN

A suspense/thriller cozy mystery with a touch of romance.

An unconventional woman. A brutal murder. To solve the case, one reverend will look for help from beyond the grave…

Cici Gurule wants to pretend her dream is nothing more than a meaningless nightmare. But she cannot ignore that the bruised and bloodied woman looked alarmingly like her.

When a baby turns up on her porch—a baby who was reported missing days before—evidence points to a connection with the woman in Cici’s dream, and she can no longer ignore the nighttime vision. Cici and Detective Sam Chastain struggle to follow the garbled evidence, but the killer scores his victim first.

Worse, a message pinned to the victim’s blouse states, “You’re next.”

Now, it’s a race against the clock to keep the baby safe and find the murderer before his trail goes cold. Cici’s only chance to solve this mystery, before she becomes the next victim, means choosing between her faith and believing a message left by her ghostly twin.

A Heritage of Death is the second novel in a compelling female sleuth mystery series for fans of Agatha Christie, Addison Moore, and Molly Fitz.

 


An Artifact of Death (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 3)An Artifact of Death (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 3)$4.99

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN

A suspense/thriller cozy mystery with a touch of romance.

A 2019 Publishers Weekly BookLife Prize finalist.

A botched execution. A reverend on the run. Can she solve the mystery before she’s caught in the crosshairs?

Reverend Cici Gurule went to the sacred Chaco Canyon in search of a sign. She’s been offered a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity in a megachurch, but taking the position would mean abandoning her Southwestern home and the man she’s grown to love as much more than a friend. She’s so caught up in her thoughts that she doesn’t realize when she stumbles upon a group of heavily armed operatives on the verge of an execution.

Soon, Cici’s dodging bullets and scaling mesas with the mysterious man she saved from certain death. With a little help from her twin sister’s ghost and restless ancestral spirits, they venture deeper into the maze-like rocky terrain. But her new companion’s deadly aim makes her wonder if she can afford to trust his side of the story.

To make it out of the canyon alive, Cici must unearth the true story behind the man and a sacred Navajo artifact before the next blood shed on sacred ground is hers.


A Revelation of Death (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 4)A Revelation of Death (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 4) $4.99