Author Login       New? Forgot?

Jacky Gray's first career was telecoms and after 23 years writing software, she spent 17 years teaching children, occasionally introducing them to the joy of math. Teaching is now ancient history - a bit like the books she writes. Well, most of them, as you will see.

Nature’s Tribe
These stories go back to 14th Century England, when plagues and witch-hunts meant it was not a great time to be a midwife. Especially one using the magic of herbs and earth energy in her healing. But Senna is no ordinary woman, and when she befriends cousins Jarl and Lyran, something magical is set in place which has far-reaching ramifications.

The books so far are:
#1 - Three Handfastings and a Burial 
#2 - Twelve Days of Yule 
#3 - Eight Sabbats of the Sun 
#4 - Thirteen Esbats of the Moon 

Twitter - Goodreads

 


3 Handfastings and a Burial: A Magical, Medieval Romance (Nature's Tribe Book 1) 3 Handfastings and a Burial: A Magical, Medieval Romance (Nature's Tribe Book 1) FREE JULY 5-7

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN 

Exactly whose handfasting is this? Senna feels like nothing but an inconvenience at her own wedding.
Instead of the small, serene event Senna and Lyran conceived, his father seems determined to take over every aspect, from what she should wear to exactly what and when their guests should eat. His reason for inviting the entire village, and commissioning a chef to royalty, is clear.
Power.
The magister wishes to impress people who could gain him a position on the council.

But when Lyran swaps his heartfelt vows for the complex ones his father deems appropriate, Senna’s anger boils in the midsummer sun. Is the man she’s marrying too weak to stand up for himself? It does not augur well for their life together if he is nothing more than his father’s puppet instead of the generous, independent man she thought she knew.
This medieval, Wedding-themed romantic tale will appeal to fans of Call the Midwife, Poldark and Robin Hood who enjoy elements of magical realism, mystery and humour.

Written as a prequel to the holiday-themed romance/adventure, 12 Days of Yule, this gives snapshots in the lives of Senna and Lyran - a couple of medieval healers not averse to using a dollop of earth magic and oodles of humour in their work. What they don't yet realise is their higher purpose - to heal an entire world.
The third in the Nature's Tribe series, 8 Sabbats of the Sun, will be out early in 2019, where Senna's daughter Lyrelie picks up the tale.


12 Days of Yule: A Magical, Medieval Romance (Nature's Tribe Book 2)12 Days of Yule: A Magical, Medieval Romance (Nature's Tribe Book 2) $4.99

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN

A ruthless magister or an reckless mercenary? Not much of a choice.
Senna's year of mourning ends on the twelfth day of Yule, and she must choose her protector. Domenyk, a well-respected councillor needs a woman of substance to accompany him on his ascent to leader of the council - the most powerful man in the village. Jarl was her late husband's best friend, but he spends much of his time away from the village as a sought-after military commander. And he's not too good at keeping his promises.
As she prepares for the Yule festivities, Senna's standing as the village healer is called into question by powerful adversaries, and complications arise for two of her expectant mothers. The stakes ramp up as the ancient Pagan practices are threatened by the new religion and the village's three best defenders disappear. Thankfully, someone is looking out for Senna - her dead husband, Lyran.
This medieval, Holiday-themed romantic tale will appeal to fans of Call the Midwife, Poldark and Robin Hood who enjoy elements of magical realism, mystery and humour.


8 Sabbats of the Sun: A Magical, Medieval Romance (Nature's Tribe Book 3)8 Sabbats of the Sun: A Magical, Medieval Romance (Nature's Tribe Book 3) $4.99

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon INWhy does everyone (including Gaia) keep Cal and Lyrelie apart? Even themselves.
Cal knows eavesdroppers never hear anything to their advantage. But he really didn’t need to hear Lyrelie’s offhand dismissal to know she thought him unworthy.
Lyrelie does not understand what more she can do to make Cal notice her; she is convinced he already thinks her too forward after she fell out of the ash tree into his arms. But why does he keep disappearing?
Even without their self-imposed barriers, more than one person in the village has reasons for sabotaging their union. But will Cal have the courage to stand up to the predatory powers or resist the tantalising temptress? And will Lyrelie ever be able to forgive his betrayal?
This medieval, romantic tale will appeal to fans of Call the Midwife, Poldark andRobin Hood who enjoy elements of magical realism, mystery and humour.

13 Esbats of the Moon: A Magical, Medieval Romance (Nature's Tribe Book 4)13 Esbats of the Moon: A Magical, Medieval Romance (Nature's Tribe Book 4) $0.99

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN 
Does a fallen woman deserve to find love?
Eanje's tormented childhood forced her to make some unsavoury choices. She refuses to waste time crying over her past, and the things she was forced to do in order to survive. If onlys have no place in her life, not even when she finds herself pregnant with no idea who fathered it.
This is where it gets messy.
It could belong to the monster who terrorised the village, murdering anyone who got in his way.
It could belong to the man who'd shown Eanje nothing but kindness since they moved to this new place after the ravages of the Black Death.
But it could not belong to the only man she'd ever loved, because he was spoken for and, despite her reputation, she does have standards.
As the fertile new world brings many challenges, Eanje has no idea whether any of her experiences to date will prepare her for this new adventure.

This medieval, romantic tale will appeal to fans of strong female characters, Call the Midwife, Poldark and Robin Hood who enjoy a vaguely dystopian story with elements of magical realism, mystery and lashings of humour.