Author Login       New? Forgot?

Kate Avery Ellison decided she wanted to be an author when she was five years old, and with hard work, determination, and the support of loved ones along the way, her dreams of telling stories for a living came true in 2011 with her first novel, The Curse Girl, and continued with her Amazon bestselling series The Frost Chronicles and numerous other fantasy and science fiction novels. She loves putting a dash of mystery in everything she writes, an ode to her childhood spent reading Nancy Drew, Agatha Christie, and Sherlock Holmes, and she can't resist adding a good twist in the story wherever she can.

Kate wishes she could live in a place where it's always October, but until that's possible, she makes her home in humid Atlanta with her husband, son, and two spoiled cats. When she isn't dreaming up her next novel or holed up writing it down, Kate can be found binging her favorite shows on Netflix, reading on her Kindle, building intricate train track configurations with her toddler, and playing board games with her husband and friends.

Learn more about Kate's writing and books at her blog (http://thesouthernscrawl.blogspot.com/), find teasers for upcoming works on her Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/kateaveryellison), and subscribe to the new releases newsletter to be notified of new novels as soon as they hit stores (https://tinyletter.com/kateaveryellison)!


A Gift of Poison (The Kingmakers' War Book 1) A Gift of Poison (The Kingmakers' War Book 1) kindle unlimited logo 

 

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN  

Bestselling Amazon author of The Frost Chronicles, Kate Avery Ellison, delivers a fantasy novel packed with clever betrayals, surprising twists, and many moments of delicious vindication for its scrappy heroine. This is a must-read for fans of Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass, Maria V. Snyder’s Poison Study, Megan Whalen Turner's The Thief, and Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes.

This is the clever, heartbreaking, intricate YA fantasy you've always wanted to read.

Briand Varryda has always been too clever for her own good. She’s quick with knives and even quicker with cards. She can scramble up a castle wall. She can ride a bad-tempered stallion with her arms tied behind her back.

But it’s never been enough. She’s useless in the eyes of everyone on her uncle’s estate. A guttersnipe. An orphan. An annoyance. Even Kael, the handsome, enigmatic steward of her uncle who has protected her from her uncle’s wrath too many times already, sees her as nothing but trouble to him.

But when Briand drinks of vial of poisoned venom that grants the drinker the power to control dragons, she becomes the opposite of useless.

She becomes the one thing that might win the war.

Kael, she quickly discovers, is a Monarchist spy. Leader of a band of rebels. About to embark on a dangerous mission. And he and his crew desperately need Briand’s new skills.

Nobody is happy about the situation, least of all Briand, but she doesn’t have a choice. Terrifying magic users called Seekers are now hunting her and her powers. She is plunged into a world of danger, betrayal, and secrets. A world in which friends turn into traitors. A world in which she might be falling for Kael. A world in which she is determined to prove that she is not useless.

Briand is going to need all her cleverness to survive.

Don't miss the second book in this addictive series, A Bed of Blades!


A Bed of Blades (The Kingmakers' War Book 2) A Bed of Blades (The Kingmakers' War Book 2) kindle unlimited logo $3.99 to buy

 

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN

*Book Two in The Kingmakers' War, a series perfect for fans of Throne of Glass and Game of Thrones.

Briand Varryda hasn't seen Kael and his company of Monarchists since they succeeded in destroying the Barrow Bridge and thwarting the march of the enemy. She's been hidden away for two years with the Hermit, forgotten. But when the Hermit protecting her is killed, she flees, hiding among thieves from the insidious Seekers.


Briand doesn't want to be a pawn for the Monarchists or the Seekers. She doesn't want to pick a side in the war. She simply wants to live and be free.

When another thief betrays her, Briand makes a deal for her freedom and joins another Monarchist plot with the enigmatic Kael to steal a legendary treasure from a dragon-infested cave. But there are problems. She might have feelings for Kael. The Seekers are pursuing them. The caverns rest beneath an estate of perilous dangers.

And Briand has secrets of her own.


A Kiss of Treason (The Kingmakers' War Book 3) A Kiss of Treason (The Kingmakers' War Book 3) kindle unlimited logo $3.99 to buy

 

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN  

Following another successful mission with Kael and his company, Briand is torn between two choices--should she disappear to protect herself or stay with her friends, even though she is not a Monarchist?

When she and Kael are arrested as spies and taken to the prince's secret court for trial, everything becomes even more complicated... the Seeker Auberon continues to hunt her in her dreams, Briand's feelings for Kael--and his for her--torment them both as they struggle to trust each other in the midst of secrets and conflicted political loyalties, and then there's a traitor among the nobility who has attempted to assassinate the prince. The punishment for treason is a swift and painful death.

And some people seem to think that traitor might be Kael.


A Circle of Flames (The Kingmakers' War Book 4) A Circle of Flames (The Kingmakers' War Book 4) kindle unlimited logo $4.99 to buy

 

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN

Briand has been taken captive by her mortal enemy, Auberon. As he takes her to the capital city of Tasglorn, she schemes to barter for her release by attempting to cooperate... and learn what she can about her magic gift.

Meanwhile, Kael gathers old friends in a desperate bid to rescue her from the Seekers' clutches.

Briand thought the Seekers were monsters. She's surprised to find they are more human than she could have imagined. Sometimes she even forgets they are her enemies.

With her loyalties tested and time running out before her magic kills her, Briand must prove herself Catfoot yet again.


A Shield of Sorrow (The Kingmakers' War Book 5) A Shield of Sorrow (The Kingmakers' War Book 5) kindle unlimited logo $4.99 to buy

 

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN  

Book 5 in the series that has captivated and obsessed YA fantasy lovers!

After a heartbreaking parting, Briand finds herself in the north, and Kael returns to the south...

Both are heartbroken. Both are hurt. Both are stubbornly determined to move on.

Briand seeks the guardians to find more answers about her powers and slowly builds up a reputation as a vigilante hero among the villagers, while Prince Jehn looks for a new home for the court in exile amid assassination attempts and the fevered arguments of his court.

When Kael and the prince find themselves in peril, who will save them?


A Court of Lies (The Kingmakers' War Book 6) A Court of Lies (The Kingmakers' War Book 6) kindle unlimited logo $4.99 to buy

 
Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN

The 6th installment in the beloved Kingmakers' War series!

Queens.

Captains.

Princes.

Seekers.

The war continues to rage across Austrisia, and the players in the battle for the throne continue to employ magic, trickery, and political intrigue in their quest to rule the land. In the north, Briand takes the splintered throne as Guttersnipe the thief-queen, longing for the man she loves despite everything that has transpired. Prince Jehn prepares for his marriage in a dangerous foreign court. Meanwhile, Kael assembles an elite guard from across the country... and makes plans to pay a visit to a certain fierce, tempestuous thief-queen.

He can't stay away. Even if she might end up putting a dagger through his heart.


A Reign of Thieves (the Kingmakers' War Book 7) A Reign of Thieves (the Kingmakers' War Book 7)  kindle unlimited logo $4.99 to buy

 

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon IN  

Brace yourselves for book 7 in the beloved Kingmakers' War series!

In the north, Briand struggles to hold her ground as thief-queen against slavers and other threats in the wretched city of Gillspin. Meanwhile, her reputation grows as more and more misfits and orphans flock to join her alter ego, the Scarlet Blade.

Kael of Estria, Monarchist spy and now the captain of Prince Jehn's royal guard, must rescue the Monarchist refugees from Cahan's army.

Prince Jehn is locked in a battle of wits with the queen of Nyr, his wife in name only, whom he is secretly in love with. The queen, sometimes an ally and sometimes an enemy with her own agenda, has secrets that Jehn cannot decipher. As they battle for dominance in the Nyrian court, the consequences might prove deadly.

Loyalties will be tested. Love will be questioned. Secrets will be revealed. Hearts will be broken.

Experience the Game of Thrones meets Sarah J. Maas series that has readers hooked!