I am born and raised in New Orleans. I started going to parades and watched them from sitting on my Dad's shoulders before I could walk. I've been in Girl Scout parades, high school parades, St. Patrick's parades, Mardi Gras parades, on dance teams in parades and just about any loosely organized group who deemed it necessary to parade. I just can't help myself. I love parades.
I attended Loyola of the South here in New Orleans so I wouldn't be far from a parade.

I spent 20+ years working for and retired from AT&T. I have worked and lived in New York City, Madison, New Jersey, Atlanta, Georgia and Birmingham, Alabama returning home for the big parade every year--Mardi Gras. 
clm.photo .jpeg copy

Before Katrina, I moved away and back three times, four if you count rebuilding the same house at the same address after Katrina flooded my home. I did miss a couple of parades that year.

I'm an avid sailor and Scuba diver for many years, and made lasting friendships from sailing and dive trips. I love travel and if the opportunity presents itself, I'm there. Except for a brief stint where I had to own and learn how to ride a motorcycle, I've been a water baby. When I am not enjoying fun with friends in all New Orleans has to offer- sailing and racing with friends on Lake Pontchartrain, Mardi Gras, parties and festivals- I head to Florida. 

I am an ardent animal lover and direct volunteer breed rescue work as Schnauzer Rescue of Louisiana. I love to write and I write about what I know and love! You can take the girl out of New Orleans, but you can't take the New Orleans out of the girl!

Dead & Breakfast, the second book in my series THE NEW ORLEANS GO CUP CHRONICLES placed in two categories in the 2014 SOLA Chapter of RWA's Dixie Kane contest for Short/Long Series for Contemporary fiction and for Single Title Contemporary fiction. My first book is RESCUED BY A KISS.

I'm President of the new chapter in New Orleans of Sisters in Crime.  Our chapter name is SinC:New Orleans. Check us out on Facebook.

Feel free to email/contact me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., or my Facebook page, and my blog .

 

Rescued By A Kiss (The New Orleans Go Cup Chronicles Book 1) Rescued By A Kiss (The New Orleans Go Cup Chronicles Book 1) kindle unlimited logo $2.99 to buy

 

A KISS TO KILL FOR…

Wall Street Journal Best-Selling Author!

"... fun, sexy mysteries with the kind of unique details only a native can bring to a series set in the Crescent City." --Ellen Byron, award-winning author, the Cajun Country Mysteries.

In Colleen Mooney's funny, romantic, delightfully meandering cozy mystery, you gon' have a authentic Noo Awlins experience, dawlin'! And a wild ride into the bargain.

Brandy Alexander's the real deal--yes, that's her real name and she's not even a stripper, although her best friend Julia is. Brandy still lives with her parents in the Irish Channel and she's sort of semi kind of engaged to the boy next door, who's---what else?---one of NOLA's finest.

In fact, Dante, the BF, is such a thoroughgoing New Orleanian he always manages Mardi Gras parade duty on his own block. So you'd think Brandy might be a little self-conscious when a suave smoothie in one of the gentlemen's walking clubs mesmerizes her into a big fat Mardi Gras smooch right in front of him. But not a bit. Because after all, it's Mardi Gras, and also for another good reason--- "that kiss was long, slow, hot---unlike any kiss I'd ever had in my life." She makes a date to meet Mr. Good Kiss after the parade (Yes! Right in front of Mr. Right Next Door) but –horrors--arrives just in time to see him get shot. Although fortunately not shot dead. Before he passes out, he pulls her close and whispers, "Save Isabella."

And then, in case you aren't yet in the carnival spirit, the fun begins. You'd think a mystery that begins with an eligible man taking a bullet might be a bit dark, but Colleen Mooney has something else in mind---something like a screwball chase all over town, from Lee Circle to the Lakefront, with a stop at Charity Hospital, and finally to the French Quarter's favorite gay dance club, at all times accompanied by Schnauzers, one of them named Geaux Cup.

Jiff, the captivating kisser, (aka Mr. Possibly Right), has enemies, of course, and, oh, by the way, he and Brandy get kidnapped, but this one's much more about the offbeat inventive fun than the mystery. And the romance, of course. The real adventure here is swanning around town with Brandy and her crazy krewe---much of it canine and seriously cute.

New Orleans aficionados will appreciate the plethora of authentic touches, from Brandy's family and neighborhood, to meals at Ye Olde College Inn, and the familial friendships black and white families form with each other; cozy readers will love the humor and the romance; and chick lit fans will root for plucky, soft-hearted Brandy, who never met a stray dog she didn't rescue.

Brandy may be the most unlikely of detectives, but the slapstick way she goes about it has a definite whiff of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum about it; fans of Stephanie Bond, Jana DeLeon, Joan Hess, Lisa Lutz, Sarah Strohmeyer, and Elaine Viets may also find a kindred spirit in this New Orleans dawlin'. And animal lovers will flat-out swoon

   

Dead and Breakfast (The New Orleans Go Cup Chronicles, Vol. Two Book 2) Dead and Breakfast (The New Orleans Go Cup Chronicles, Vol. Two Book 2) kindle unlimited logo $2.99 to buy

 

DEAD IN BED…WHO YOU GONNA CALL? 

Wall Street Journal Best-Selling Author!

"A delight to read." --Ellen Byron, award-winning author, the Cajun Country Mysteries

Good Irish Channel Catholic school girl that she is, Brandy Alexander's a true and trusted friend---not to mention something of a detective-- so who else would you call if you found a full-blown murder mystery in your bedroom? Exactly. So when Brandy's best friend Julia, the ex-stripper-turned hotelier, finds her first guest covered in blood, lying half on and half off a broken bed---with Julia's panties swinging from the chandelier – she gets Brandy on the horn. Cool-hand Brandy assesses the situation, and carries out the only sensible course of action: first she makes a pot of coffee, then she calls the police.

And who should respond but her recent ex-boyfriend, Dante, with a brand new daggers-looking female partner. But wait! That isn't nearly complicated enough for Noo Awlins, where, after all, everybody knows everybody. Julia's lawyer is none other than Jiff, Brandy's new squeeze (and the reason Dante's the ex-boyfriend).

But there's still another complication, in the form of MY FRIEND'S BIG FAT POUFFY-SKIRTED ITALIAN WEDDING -- which will have every chick lit fan who ever put on a bridesmaid's dress rolling on the floor! While Brandy and Jiff try to keep Julia out of the slammer, Brandy's oldest school chum is getting married, and with eighteen bridesmaids, Brandy can't escape being recruited, partnered with who else? Her favorite upstanding Italian member of NOLA's finest - Dante.

As the suspense mounts, the romance blossoms, and not just one-- Jiff 's looking more and more like Mr. Right: a 100% Class Act, with his own Schnauzer and a soft spot for Brandy's three. But Dante makes it clear that he doesn't plan to go quietly; the former Mr. Right Next Door has a few very sexy moves he's been holding in reserve, which knock Brandy's socks – and truth be told, her panties--off!

With this one, Brandy's fast becoming a female sleuth extraordinaire with a Big Easy flair, and cozy fans will be delighted to find her slapstick style a bit reminiscent of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum. Fans of Stephanie Bond, Jana DeLeon, Joan Hess, Lisa Lutz, Sarah Strohmeyer, and Elaine Viets may also find a kindred spirit in this New Orleans dawlin'.

Drive Thru Murder (The New Orleans Go-Cup Chronicles Book 3) Drive Thru Murder (The New Orleans Go-Cup Chronicles Book 3) kindle unlimited logo $2.99 to buy

 

FOR NEW ORLEANS STYLE MURDER---TAKE LAUGHS, TWISTS, MIX WELL, AND ADD A BELLE

Colleen Mooney keeps the twists coming as fast as the laughs in her third THIRD funny cozy starring Brandy Alexander, everybody's idea of the perfect chick lit heroine. Brandy's blonde, adorable, has a good job, two guys to choose from, and very possibly the poor judgment to pick the wrong one. (Half the fun's watching to see if she's ever going to wise up.)

The other half's watching her life complicate itself in ways that would send the average female sleuth screaming into the night. First, she witnesses a murder at a drive thru joint with the unlikely name of CLUCK IT---CHICKEN BY THE BUCKET. And then it turns out nothing at the scene's what it seems---or at any rate nobody's who they seem. Seems CLUCK IT's not just a place to clog your arteries, but also a transgender hangout. And with that discovery, you know you're in New Orleans.

The local color never stops as Brandy's complex Irish Channel family develops the kind of problem that's a lot more fun on the page than in real life. What to do when your sister gets pregnant with one of the next-door twins who are also the brothers of your lifelong flame---but she doesn't know which twin? (Be glad it's Brandy's problem, not yours.)

She also finds a mysterious box of valuable jewelry under her closet floor, becomes the unofficial caretaker of the Tarot reader across the street who knows the future but can never predict when she's going to get so drunk she's going to fall into her own bushes, and develops a strong suspicion about one of her other neighbors, all the while juggling the two Romeos.

Good thing she's better at solving mysteries than she is at wrangling her boy friends. The reader can rest assured she's eventually, and in fine style, going to weave together the myriad mysterious strands that confound the police (who happen to count Boy Friend # 1 among their ranks) and present them the solution with all the panache of an old-style detective like Hercule Poirot---yet none of the pretension. You can almost hear her wondering, "Did I do that?"

Fans of cozy mysteries and chick lit heroines will delight in Brandy's flat-out lovability and Mooney's almost offhand yet spot-on (and often hilarious) observations of everyday New Orleans life. If you like contemporary stylish heroines like those popularized by Janet Evanovich, Elaine Viets, Stephanie Bond, and Gemma Holliday, and humorous mysteries like those by Donna Andrews, Dorothy Cannell, and Lisa Lutz, you're going to get a girl-crush on Brandy Alexander.

   

Death By Rum Balls (The New Orleans Go Cup Chronicles) Death By Rum Balls (The New Orleans Go Cup Chronicles) kindle unlimited logo $2.99 to buy

 

This will be Brandy's first Christmas without Dante, but she is determined to enjoy the holiday going to parties and even a "Yappy Hour" with Jiff and both of their schnauzers. Brandy stops to deliver mistletoe for Julia's party that night when Frank, Julia's handyman, drags her into the mayhem surrounding the guest list. It seems everyone Julia invited has a grudge against her, and they all confirmed they are coming to her party. 

It seems Julia's neighbors, her cooking club, the business association, members of her Pilates class, her brother---even some of the ladies from her church group---all have a reason to dislike Julia…a lot! When gifts with stranger contents start to show up the day of the party, Frank sees it as an omen of things to come. Is someone only trying to embarrass Julia or will that someone take it a step further to even a score? 

There's no place like New Orleans to have a good crime and the holidays are no exception!